Reviews

Orange County Hardwood Floor Contractor

Gate Hardwood Floors Reviews

            ★★★★★  18 Reviews  |  Review Me >

★★★★★
Review by Kim D.
We love this company. After calling 4 companies who specialized in solid wood flooring, Gate was the ONLY one who were willing to help us strip off the awful residue of Orange Glo Floor Polish. They used an industrial floor stripper and professional brushes. After 4 attempts, it was obvious we needed to sand and refinish our floors. (Word to the wise: NEVER use Orange Glo!) Gate Hardwood refinished our floors beyond our expectations! They are More >gorgeous! Better than the original! Brian and his team were professional, hardworking, and showed a work ethic rarely seen today. They cleaned up the work area every day, too. They covered our cabinets with protective plastic and informed us of the process along the way. I highly recommend Gate Hardwood Flooring!

Date: March 20, 2017
Location: Tustin, CA
Reviewed At: Houzz
Less

★★★★★
Review by Do it Right Remodeling
Brian from Gate Hardwood Floors and his staff are my one and only choice for all my wood flooring needs. Whether it involves installation or refinishing, Brian demands perfection from each and every project. I am a General Contractor and Gate Hardwood Floors is my only installer for all my wood flooring projects. I have worked with Brian and his crew for over 5 years on projects together and will continue to do so due to his fair More >pricing, integrity, and quality of work. Thank you Brian for all of the jobs well done over the past half-decade!

Date: March 20, 2017
Location: Buena Park, CA
Reviewed At: Yelp
Less

★★★★★
Review by Brian Lindley
We had Brian do a major sanding and refinishing job about a year ago. When we had moved into our house we had wood floors that were painted black by the previous owner. We were thinking about replacing them but Brian came in and discovered they were solid walnut, so he recommended sanding and refinishing them. They turned out great. At the time he recommended a light refinish in about a year, which he just More >completed. The floors had gotten some wear and the refinish made them look like new again. Brian does the work conscientiously, efficiently and with a lot of care. We would highly recommend him for a quality job.

Date: February 23, 2017
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Reviewed At: Google Reviews
Less

★★★★★
Review by Robert Williams
Brian’s company helped us select and then installed about 3,000 sf of wide plank hardwood flooring in another house in 2011. Everything was thorough and professional. For the current house we were limited to narrow plank oak flooring to match existing and original flooring in a historically designated house built in the 1920s. They did an excellent job installing and matching the color to the existing floors. Again very professional and responsive in scheduling and installing. More >

Date: November 8th, 2016
Location: Dana Point, CA
Reviewed At: Houzz
Less

★★★★★
Review by Ted O.
If I could give 10 stars I would! Brian, Edgar and his team installed wide plank solid and engineered oak flooring in our home with an attention to detail that was beyond our expectations. They were extremely easy to work with, well priced, clean, thorough, trustworthy and HIGHLY knowledgeable about the product and process. Our floors look amazing and the workmanship is perfection. I would highly recommend them. More >

Date: February 1st, 2014
Location: San Clemente, CA
Reviewed At: Yelp
Less

★★★★★
Review by Frederic Azera
I hired Gate Hardwood Floors for a high-end wood flooring in a 4200sqft residence after researching and interviewing many other options. Brian is an expert in wood flooring and does uncompromising quality work. He prepped both the subfloors and crawl space for humidity control beyond what I expected, but he does everything by the book and per manufacturer recommendations. I was very happy with his work and hired him for another home, where he More > did another beautiful job. I highly recommend him.

Date: September 18th, 2016
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Reviewed At: Houzz
Less

★★★★★
Review by Ross H.
We have a beautiful 10 year old Hickory/ French Bleed solid flooring that we wanted to extend into our master bedroom approx. 260 sq ft. We had five flooring companies come out and give us a quote on the work. Only one company, Gate Hardwood Floors/ Brian Buske , said that they could closely match the wood and stain, and then had the professional courtesy to follow up with us. The others gave me prices all over the board, but would not More > return my calls for information.

Brian was GREAT, he sought out the similar grade of Hickory, came out to the house (himself) three times to check the existing flooring and take pictures and compare his test samples. He even came out on Sunday evening to check that everything was ready to go for Monday installation, taking moisture readings of the new flooring that had been inside for a week so that it matched our existing floor. They completed the installation in two days, thorough, clean, very considerate workers Jeremy & Edgar working with state-of-the-art equipment that had vacuum attachments for dust. They meticulously moved through the pile of wood to find pieces that would seamlessly match our existing wood, then blended the darker pieces into the room with a natural even flow. At completion, we had a BEAUTIFUL Hickory French Bleed floor that you could not tell wasn’t placed with the original flooring. It was outstanding, my wife loves it, and she is a VERY particular decorator.

I read the other review about a 4 month wait, our job was about a month from my first phone call, and through the Christmas season. I would say that if Brian and his company have current jobs in progress, they take the time to please the customer. If you want the job done RIGHT the first time, at a fair price, than Brian/ Gate Hardwood Floors is the company you want!! I’m definitely calling him again!! Ross H.

Date: January 31st, 2015
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Reviewed At: Yelp
Less


★★★★★
Review by Alan Ross
Remodeling projects almost always take longer and end up costing more than expected. Brian and his company were a welcome exception to this rule. He and his crew worked with great diligence and completed the project (1800 SF of hardwood floors plus the staircase) in exactly the number of days he estimated when I signed the contract. I thought it was optimistic at the time, but the whole thing was done within 9 days. Even with the quick completion, More > however, Brian pays the utmost attention to every detail and takes obvious pride in his work. He even paid for a housecleaning service to come through after the project was finished to make sure every speck of construction dust was gone.

Date: May 24, 2016
Location: Tustin, CA
Reviewed At: Houzz
Less

★★★★★
Review by Standiford Helm
Brian did a fantastic job on our project and was very professional.
We would certainly recommend him.
More >

Date: November 20, 2016
Location: San Clemente, CA
Reviewed At: Google Reviews
Less

★★★★★
Review by Patrick Harris
We thought we would have to totally replace our custom distressed hickory floor due to slab leak damage, but upon Brian’s inspection, he confirmed only the few damaged planks needed to be replaced and he would be able to match the remaining floor by refinishing it, saving thousands of dollars. The crew handling the refinishing process were diligent and thorough and ensured everything was done to keep the environment clean. The end result exceeded our More >expectations with the financial impact kept to a minimum.

He even made a couple of courtesy visits afterwards to repair scuffs made by other contractors during repairs! In our opinion, their years of experience and a great work ethic make Gate Hardwood Floors an excellent solution to any flooring project.

Date: March 22, 2016
Location: Coto De Caza, CA
Reviewed At: Houzz
Less


★★★★★
Review by Ted O.
I recently had my hardwood floors refinished by Gate Hardwood Floors. They sanded, stained and finished the whole house (except bathroom and kitchen). They did a fantastic job and my floors are beautiful now! They replaced boards that were damaged by termites and fitted them in and matched them well. They were very accommodating with getting it scheduled and the work done within 3 weeks from the day I got the More >estimate. Everything was on time and estimate was accurate. The company has all the proper equipment to get the job right and employees were very friendly and trustworthy. I would highly recommend this company.

Date: February 1st, 2014
Location: San Clemente, CA
Reviewed At: Yelp
Less

★★★★★
Review by nancyandbenny
I hired Gate Hardwood Floors and had a GREAT experience. Brian is very easy to work with and a real professional. He works well with other contractors and will do everything he can to stay on schedule, (not only did he stay on schedule he finished a little early). Brian is a perfectionist who won’t be happy with his work unless it is up to his high standard. I felt confident throughout the project that my floor would be amazing. He is also More >very patient and helped me to achieve the stain I wanted for my beautiful wood floor.

Brian and his crew exceeded all of my expectations, I would highly recommend him, he will do an amazing job for you just as he did for me. I LOVE my wood floors !!!!!!!

Date: March 14, 2016
Location: Coto De Caza, CA
Reviewed At: Houzz
Less


★★★★★
Review by Loren M.
Old world high quality craftsmanship, dependability and courtesy, are still alive! In 2013 we hired a general contractor to build a new house from the ground up. Being a super detailed guy, I was involved in the process and the project turned out beautifully with the direction of a great General Contractor, with the temperament to put up with me, and a host of excellent subcontractors. One of the subcontractors stood out as the single best on the job, More >that was Brian and Wendy from Gate Hardwood Floors. We had an African Mahogany hardwood floor installed along with stair treads. In short, it was impeccably installed to perfection. It is one of the best installations I have ever seen. Brian was very courteous, very detailed, dependable and a pleasure to work with. I will use him again. In fact we had another smaller project since our home was completed and we contracted with Brian to perform the work and he delivered the same excellent results. If you want a quality job and good guy to work with, you must consider Brian of Gate Hardwood Floors. I am happy to say, old world high quality craftsmanship, dependability, and courtesy are still alive.

Date: March 09, 2014
Location: Long Beach, CA
Reviewed At: Yelp
Less

★★★★★
Review by Bonnie C.
When I receive great customer service for a job well done I believe others should know about it! I am very happy with Brian and his team on our install of new flooring and maintenance on our existing. Brian knows his stuff and it shows when he is put to the test to not only put down new hardwood flooring put needs to match existing flooring in a 100 year old home!! The match is so great and flows with the rest of the house. I truly believe that for Brian and More >Wendy this is not just a business but their craft.

Date: February 22, 2014
Location: Long Beach, CA
Reviewed At: Yelp
Less

★★★★★
Review by Jim B.
Brian and Wendy run a top notch business. It’s not too often you can find a contractor that provides such stellar service and attention to the job, not to mention one who quotes a price without surprise endings. I live in a very old house with old Douglas fir hardwood, and I called to have an estimate to resurface the floors. Gate Hardwood Floors was the only vendor in Orange County that would give me a house call in order to provide a more accurate quote. EVERY other More > vendor wanted to quote over the phone (and ask where I live first).

Brian came to the house and provided me with several options. The floors had been covered for 80 plus years and had all sorts of crud on them, but we choose to resurface the floors knowing Brian was the right guy for the job. Brian communicated the exact expectations of the job and gave us a very realistic time frame for completing the job. When the job was finished we could not believe how amazing the floors looked. The restoration process completely revitalized the floors. It was as if a brand new floor was put into the house. Brian’s ability to restore the wood to the natural state was nothing short of master craftsmanship. Neighbors keep saying it looks like a brand new floor and we couldn’t be happier.

Before I chose a restoration vendor I researched for 2 weeks all of the available vendors in OC and I have to tell you, Brian and his team will do the job right while providing a fair price. I highly recommend Gate Hardwood Floors.

Date: June 13, 2013
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Reviewed At: Yelp
Less


★★★★★
Review by Alison L.
Brian and his team did a wonderful job polishing the Richard Marshall wood floors in my clients home. His team was on time, professional and finished the job in the time quoted. The floors look amazing! More >

Date: October 7, 2013
Location: Mission Viejo, CA
Reviewed At: Yelp
Less

★★★★★
Review by Dan L.
We recently purchased a home in Orange County with Richard Marshal custom wood floors. We were referred to The Hardwood Flooring Co. by a local contact in the area. From the beginning it was a great experience. The team was early for the scheduled appointment, professional and subject matter experts in restoration of our flooring, as well as competively priced. I have owned a national company for years and look to companies to represent my More > core values and methods of doing business, Gate Hardwood FLoors exceeded these. I would highly recommend this company for any and all needs towards your flooring.

Date: August 21, 2011
Location: San Clemente, CA
Reviewed At: Yelp
Less

★★★★★
Review by Tai T.
Brian Buske and his team at Gate Hardwood FLoors did an amazing job installing our new wood floors for our living room. He also refinished and stained our adjacent existing wood floors and stairways to match perfectly. He and his team were very timely and efficient. They were always courteous and professional. He was very reliable and communicated with us daily to update us on their progress. He was able to address and reassure all our concerns. He was More > also very competitive with pricing and turned out to be the best quote after we compared his to 3 other offers. But what really impressed us the most is that Brian is a perfectionist. He will not cut any corners and made sure everything was done right. He takes great pride in his work and it shows. He went out of his way to make sure we were satisfied. We were just so happy with the results. Would highly recommend him. Great job guys. Thank you so much for all your hard work.

Date: July 21, 2011
Location: El Toro, CA
Reviewed At: Yelp
Less